Smell Like Dirt

In Spring, at the end of the day, you should smell like dirt.” Margaret Atwood

Welcome to Smell Like Dirt

This blog will be dedicated to giving you fun and innovative ideas to explore the natural world around you. Videos posted weekly will show you how to attract wildlife to your yard, garden with native plants, build a compost pile and other projects meant to have you smelling like dirt! We all need to spend more time outside to reconnect with nature and instill the sense of wonder and awe we all had as children.

If there’s something you want to know how to do in the garden or have other subject matters for videos, please post your comments here or email me at smelllikedirt@gmail.com

C’mon, its fun! I smell like dirt….do you?

4 Comments»

  Julie Branch wrote @

I love your videos, especially the one on the rain barrel. It makes me want to run out and buy a rain barrel or perhaps put it on my Christmas list. Where can I find a rain barrel? I already have a mister so I don’t need advice there. Please do a video on composting or perhaps worm farming. Thanks!

  smelllikedirt wrote @

Thank you very much kind stranger! There are two rain barrels shown on the blog under “a few of my favorite things. They’re toward the bottom of the list. Hover your curser over it and you will get a description.

Also, check with the county where you live to see if they offer deals. Or if you know anyone in NC, we have a company here that makes them!

  Craig R. Wyant wrote @

Carol
I like your blog. I will visit often and share the address with others.

  PennyB wrote @

I am so impressed …. you never cease to amaze me! I have 5 ginormous oaks that are leafing out as I write. They generally render between 60-80 (40) gallon bags of leaves annually (not too mention acorns by the bazillions).

Thanks to you….I have sucesssfully purchased a composter and will have an excellent garden this spring! And very likely “Smell Like Dirt”.

Thanks for the invaluable tips!

Give a hug to the camera man for me-P:)


Leave a Reply

